Oh. Well, I screwed that up. On the day after Elimination Chamber, having not watched wrestling in a very long time, I decided to guess the card of Wrestlemania XXX, and the match outcomes. It now turns out that the majority of my matches will not happen on Sunday night. Punk didn’t return, The Shield aren’t battling each other, new star Cesaro who I thought would steal the show has been heavily suppressed, and so on and so forth.

As the matches, and therefore most of my outcome predictions are redundant, I thought I would give this another go. Who will win?

THE USOS vs THE REAL AMERICANS vs LOS MATADORES vs RYBAXEL

Usos-Real-Americans-Rybaxel-and-Los-Matadores

Who I want to win: The Usos

Who will win: The Real Americans

Will the match be good?: 6/10

I am disappointed that my prediction (Usos vs The New Age Outlaws vs Cody Rhodes and Goldust) turned out not to be the case. I thought that the Usos/Outlaws conflict would continue, with the addition of another tag team would be added to the equation so that the rivalry hadn’t gone stale. I couldn’t have been much more wrong. It’s also a shame that Rhodes and Goldust were shoehorned into the Battle Royal.

I like the Usos, but I think The Real Americans will get the push to keep Cesaro in the limelight.

 

THE SHIELD vs KANE & THE NEW AGE OUTLAWS

The-Shield-vs-Kane-Outlaws-WrestleMania-30

Who I want to win: Kane & The New Age Outlaws

Who will win: The Shield

How good will it be?: 7/10

Despite saying that I wanted to be wrong with my card predictions, to prevent the event from being predictable, this was my biggest disappointment. The Shield are the masters of chaos between more than two people in the ring. Look no further than their spectacular confrontations with The Wyatt Family. A triple threat match between Reigns, Rollins and Ambrose would have been awesome. What we have though, is much more disappointing. So why do I want Kane & The New Age Outlaws to come out on top?

I hate the character of ‘Corporate Kane’, but to form a feud with him, could begin a revenge scheme by The Shield that could bring their feud all the way up the company. Triple H. The McMahons. It could be the rollercoaster ride that leads to the desired Triple Threat come Wrestlemania 31, or maybe even by Summerslam 2014.

Even if this isn’t the path that The Shield take, this match and subsequent matches cannot just be them turning up a defeating everyone to make the audience happy. If they have to be babyfaces, at least use them properly. The Shield could be the tag team equivalent of what Stone Cold was to McMahon in the Attitude Era. However, this match will simply be a nice crowd pleaser to cement them as a crowd favourite, as if that was required anyway.

 

ANDRE THE GIANT MEMORIAL BATTLE ROYAL

 20140331_AndreCup_Match_LIGHT_HP

 

Who I want to win: Dolph Ziggler

Who will win: Alberto Del Rio

How good will it be?: 6/10

 

It doesn’t matter how many times Hogan appears to promote this. I’m just not that excited. I don’t think this will be particularly great. The Royal Rumble can be fun due to its ongoing nature and surprise entrants, but this will be a short, total mess until everyone disappears. Hogan will probably show up and give somebody a leg drop at some point.

It would be great for Ziggler to get a boost again, as he appears to be the suppressed guy that everyone wants to be on top of the game again. However, I think that the push is going to be given to Alberto Del Rio.

 

VICKIE GUERRERO DIVAS CHAMPIONSHIP INVITATIONAL

WM-660x330

Who I want to win: Naomi

Who will win: Naomi

How good will it be?: 3/10

 

Eeny meeny miny mo… Naomi. And why do I want her to win? Just so I’m right. I don’t even know who she is.

This won’t be very good. Such matches don’t have a very good reputation, and it is probable that it will be spectacularly upstaged by the other Battle Royal.

 

JOHN CENA vs BRAY WYATT

 

cena-wyatt

Who I want to win: John Cena

Who will win: John Cena

How good will it be?: 9/10

 

I think everyone thinks this will be the outcome. However, far fewer people want that to be the case. Giving this a bit more thought, I kind of do want Cena to win, but it needs to be done in the right way.

Cena has been a victim of the Wyatts’ abuse for weeks. Bray Wyatt seems to win everything. I imagine that these events have been leading up to superhero squeaky-clean Cena winning and getting revenge on the Wyatts. End of story. Each party finds a new rivalry.

Considering Bray Wyatt’s character, it would be the ideal chance to bring a dark side out of Cena, at least if this feud continues. Wyatt is an embodiment of mystery and evil, and not just the next on Cena’s list of douches to defeat. This wouldn’t necessarily make Cena a heel, but could add more fury and desperation to his character. With the other two Wyatts on site, things should get a bit dirty.

However, it can be almost guaranteed that SuperCena will magically appear and not only make the comeback of the century, but also take down the other two Wyatts. The fact that neither Harper or Rowan are on the card anywhere else, even though this is a singles match, their presence will have a role.

 

THE UNDERTAKER vs BROCK LESNAR

921bad2f8436e392edddd5a70a9d36a6

Who I want to win: The Undertaker

Who will win: The Undertaker

How good will it be?: 7/10

 

Should Taker’s streak ever end? Some say yes. Some say no. However, if it does have to, then it should not be at the hands of Brock Lesnar. Lesnar is too generic, and any personality has come from Paul Heyman. This will almost definitely end by pinfall after twenty minutes of crowd pleasing moves, but nothing particularly risky or spectacular. Brock Lesnar will overcome being squashed by Taker, give multiple F5s to show off his power, only to receive a Last Ride and Tombstone to end the match.

Normally I would be excited for an Undertaker match, but one, I’m not much of a fan of Lesnar, two, The Undertaker’s performance is in doubt, and three, the build up has been terrible. That’s not to say that this will be awful, but when ranked alongside previous Undertaker matches, this probably won’t be so brilliant.

The build up has sucked, but for that reason, it could blow us away. I’m not keeping my hopes up though. Please Taker, prove me wrong.

 

DANIEL BRYAN vs TRIPLE H

 

20140306_MatchPreview_LIGHT_HP_BryanHHH

Who I want to win: Daniel Bryan

Who will win: Daniel Bryan

How good will it be?: 7/10

It’s normally Taker’s match that everyone already knows the outcome but everyone wants to see it in all its glory anyway. However, that has been snatched tonight by Bryan vs HHH. I’m a little doubtful about it, and I think that this could end up being a disappointment, as the brutality will be kept minimal to save energy for Bryan’s second match. It’s the most eagerly awaited match of the night, and has way too much to live up to.

Something dirty will happen. Triple H will try something against the rules in sheer desperation. Perhaps an appearance by his trusty sledgehammer. However, I could imagine this ending in a no-contest. Maybe a double count-out, ending with some crowd pleaser method of keeping Mr Helmsley out of that Triple Threat match, once this first match is over. Two clean wins in one night by Bryan would be a little too perfect, but it’s probably the way it will go.

The atmosphere will probably be incredible. The intensity of Bryan love, and HHH hate could pave the way for a match as incredible as Cena and Punk at Money In the Bank 2011.

BATISTA vs RANDY ORTON vs ???

20140318_MatchPreview_LIGHT_HP_BatistaOrtonMystery

Who I want to win: Daniel Bryan

Who will win: Daniel Bryan

How good will it be?: 8/10

Not even sure why I put ‘???’ in the title. It’s going to be Bryan. I imagine that something relatively dirty will interrupt the match. Probably HHH and/or McMahons turning up mid-match and ordering whoever the audience is hating on the most (presumably Batista) to destroy Bryan, only to fail and for the crowd to go wild.

I’m sure this match could be great, but I have lower faith in both Batista and Bryan, the latter primarily to being shattered and having already pulled out most of the crowd pleasers in the previous match.

If a feud begins, after too much humour in the trash talking between Bryan and Batista, should probably form a feud either with Orton for the sake of revenge, or perhaps someone who is out of the equation. Alberto Del Rio, maybe.

Leave a Reply

